Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

Travelling Up North

Cumulus Gate Pavilion, on show at Christchurch's Airport, is a NZ made sculpture by NZ- based Gregor Kregar. It reflects his strong interest in Richard Pearse and his pioneering experiments in aviation. He researched prismatic geometry, the connections between nature, mathematics and modular form, then made the calculations required for the sculptures, both inside and outside the terminal. It reflects its surroundings, plus the flaxes planted at its base and the lighting at night. It is made of 1000 pieces of handcut stainless steel.

The building behind the sculpture is the Control Tower

I'm on my way to Auckland today, for my granddaughter's 10th birthday - am so looking forward to catching up with my Auckland family !

Thank you again for the response to my 13 Aug blip - I am overwhelmed by the continuing response!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.