Close Enough!

This image all stems from a conversation with GingerNan yesterday. She told us that if you have a camera up to your face you don't frighten birds away. Really? Yes, she was adamant and had tried it out herself. Today I was driving near the estuary and these 2 king shags were sitting on their rocks, close to the shore. So, I tried it out, camera to my eye, walking closer and closer, hoping like heck that I wouldn't trip over a rock. They didn't budge! not until I was about to put a foot in the water. Unbelievable. One of them must have got wind of me, or caught movement - something unsettled it. I was close enough. But, unbelievably, it worked! Thanks GingerNan - and btw - Happy Birthday!

Do go Large and check out the beautiful feathers. They must be in the breeding season as the shag still on the rock has blue around its eyes.

I met up with Artival in town today; we visited the amazing, startling and even disturbing World Press Photo Exhibition at the James Hight Library at the University of Canterbury. It's well worth visiting and runs until 24th August.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.