Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

Along the way...

There is a time, which is neither dreaded or anticipated, when Autumn brings darker evenings. A time when I have to put the lights back on my bike, when I reach for a wind proof jacket. Last night was one such night. I finished work late and headed for my car.

As the night drew in and the daytime shadows crept across the street, enfolding and grasping at everything around me, I felt the slightest chill in my fingers. Autumn was waiting in the shadows....

A gentle rain fell out of the sky and the chill from last night kept it company. I looked skyward and closed my eyes, yes.....it was waiting, Autumn, just biding its time. The trees along the darkened avenue held a golden tint at their edges and the smell of musky damp earth filled the cool air. Tis too sweet, too precious, these moments of balance, teetering on the cusp of change...a delicate time.

Each footstep along a journey is a rare moment, to be savoured and cherished, for we all have a beginning and an end, but for me......it's what we gather along the way that makes it all so special!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.