Chiara

By Chiara

Going postal

I've been fortunate enough to meet many wonderful, understanding, and patient people who are more than happy to accommodate me because of my hearing loss, but I've come across some rotten apples who wouldn't come within five feet of me, let alone treat me like a human being because I'm hard-of-hearing. Even though rude and ignorant people are a minority of the general population, I'm used to receiving sub-par treatment at certain establishments. Sometimes I even expect it. Even with that kind of cynical attitude, I still get appalled from time to time by how cruel some people could be.

A prime example would be this woman at the local post office a few days ago. I won't go into details, but she basically tried to refuse me service and yelled at me in front of everyone in her heavy Asian accent (which I found to be very ironic -- you'd think she would understand what it's like to be a minority). I left feeling so angry and embarrassed, vowing to never go back there again.

Well, I had to return today because this place is the only post office in the neighborhood that would take passport applications. Even though I saw her behind the counter (and tried to give her a dirty look), I ended up with a very nice man with a soft voice.

On a similar note, it looks like I'm going to Bermuda in the end of August! You'll be surprised at how cheap the flight tickets are. Chicago - Bermuda round trip tickets run as low as $150. Say what?!

I'm probably the most unphotogenic person in the world, so I was pleasantly surprised at how well my passport photo came out. The guy at Walgreens should become a professional photographer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.