Eggs..citing

Not the usual frenetic aerobatics but a more leisurely and considered approach - such as, 'Where am I going to deposit my eggs?' type flying.

Back to an old haunt..the Nature Reserve at Highnam Woods. The pond has all but dried up but lo and behold I suddenly spotted this Southern Hawker.

Saw her across the pond and switched to the zoom but when she started flying round my knees was cursing this and belted back for the 100mm for close-ups. Laying eggs on the bullrushes and reeds it was only a matter of time before she came back to my side of the water which incidentally I DID NOT fall in this time! Skidding in the mud which was fractionally dodgy but moving oh soooo slowly I got near enough to get even uncropped shots. However this shot is cropped but that is all - standing in the mud, without tripod and bending into the gloomy reed bed of the pond.

I was in my element loving every minute...then the phone rang in my jeans pocket!!! Aaargh! She flew up, eyeballed me..that is nose to nose... and went back to her egg laying. A great morning!! :)) You can see a bit of an SP in her right eye!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.