Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

First day back

Got woken early by pesky pigeons cooing in the alcove of the kitchen extractor fan! They are SO ANNOYING! Then, as it is Thursday, the gardeners were at it cutting the grass in the garden. This was followed by a salesman from my bank asking if I want to remain on the "Do Not Contact For Promotions List!" Guess what the answer to that was!

I then started to wonder where/how I could have possibly lost my precious local SIM card. It had driven me to distraction last night from the time I realised I didn't have it with me; hence the fraught time between airport and home. Anyway, through the help of my friends at my previous company, I have managed to get a new SIM card with the same number so I am able to contact people/be contacted again. Phew!

Used my Volvo to get around. Poor thing. I don't think it has been used all the time I've been away and that isn't so good for a 21 year old. It coughed and spluttered all the way to the office, then store to sort SIM out. I had to switch the A/c off at times, which at 40degC temps is no fun. I took it to the car wash to give it a good clean inside and out, then out to the desert for a long run to blow the cobwebs out/get the carbon off the contacts whatever. It seemed to work though it still struggled.

Stopped off for an Indian takeaway from fav restaurant - it is Indian Independence Day after all! They got independence and we got a brand new country! ;) But the real highlight of the day was meeting up with tigbmp and her family who are passing through Dubai on their way back to England!! We met in - ta da - no surprises - a MALL!! Dubai Mall to be precise - at the Fountain; and I got treated to ice cream as Tig owed me for 13.8.13. :))

My blip... was taken whilst getting petrol after my long drive. It shows the buildings at the top of Sheikh Zayed Road - from left to right - Crowne Plaza Hotel to Fairmont with a Palm Tree thrown in for good measure. You can see a bit of sand in the foreground... us being in the desert after all... missing the CLEAR skies of Britain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.