Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Family day

Well a few of them - Angie's father Sepp (Joseph), stepbrother Peter with partner Sandra, Angie's sister Sigi & husband Gerhard. Sadly Sepp's wife Jani was not up to making the trip. One day we will manage a bigger gathering. I think the most we have had are 14 staying overnight! Anyway a fun day even if too short. This time with Peter taking the role of BBQ chef and doing a great job. No Pimms as it wasn't a weekend (Angelique's Rule #15) wasn't a German national holiday (Pimms allowed according to Rule #19) but just a bank holiday in catholic areas of Bavaria (parishes with more protestants eg in some parts of northern Bavaria don't have a holiday!) Weather was good & so some swimming & snoozing (On Flickr)

Although I slept through it, I understand my op went well on Wednesday. Had a good nights sleep in hospital & after a very late breakfast (due to the bank holiday) and very late doctors round, I went home although the docs wanted me to stay another night especially as I refused to take the antibiotics they wanted to pump in to my veins. To some stuttering from the staff, I packed my bag & drove home. Ten minutes later, Birgit (nursing service) arrived although I had told her not to come as the wound had just been freshly dressed. She ripped off the, in her words, "inappropriate dressing" and then went mad when she saw what they had done! Unfortunately the doctor who had done the initial diagnosis on Tuesday evening and would have operated that night had described how he would do it (approved by Birgit) but admitted most of his colleagues would be more "generous" with their work. This doctor was not on duty the next day & indeed his colleagues seemed to have enjoyed cutting away, including linking the new cut with the old wound which Birgit has been struggling to heal. Birgit's first reaction was that she would cancel her 4 day holiday (already reduced from 14 days) but I managed to convince her that her #2 Jenny would be able to keep me alive until Tuesday. Birgit then redressed the wound with materials she knew would work and gave me strict instructions (repeated 10 times) as to what I wasn't allowed to do before she got back. After a quick cup of coffee or two with the family who had in the meantime arrived, she disappeared on holiday but not before repeating her instructions twice and informing Angie of what I wasn't to do! Have forgotten most of what she said but fairly sure she didn't forbid Bliping.

So am back to blurb publishing, hope you are all well & fit. Just one more day for those in the UK until weekend. In Bavaria, Friday is a "Bridge" day i.e. most take it as a days holiday to make it a 4 day weekend.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.