Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At home: portrait on portrait on portrait..x

I love portraiture. I love art and intricate lighting.

I always feel really absorbed by an amazing portrait. I remember standing in the national gallery in London, when I was ells age and being absorbed in a painting by Joseph Wright of Derby. I remember being really sad by the bird that was bring killed in the painting and feeling for the children crying for it. The candle light on their faces is almost haunting. ( SEE HERE)

Every time I see lighting like that, it makes my hair stand on end. I would love to reproduce that one day. The portrait in the floor behind ells, was a poster from the Taylor Wessing portrait award gallery. Some of the portraits were hauntingly good. Perfect lighting, inspiring. One day, I'll get one right. Then one day ells will get one right too..... X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.