The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

She's a lady!

Went to Southwater CP this morning armed with my telemacro lens to try to get some pictures of the inside wings of Clouded yellow butterflies!
Well, 2 and half hours later I had 3 shots of a tiny bit of yellow wing exiting stage right (or left!), 1 really, really overexposed shot of the inside wing I was trying to get and about 400 shots of out of focus fleabane flowers and no butterflies in sight!!!
To say I was frustrated was an understatement!!!
Disollusioned, I decided to see what else was around, and found 2 beautiful Painted ladies.....who also didn't want to play the game!!
So, this is the best of a bad bunch! A painted lady butterfly nectaring on Fleabane (and keeping a watchful eye on me! ).
Painted lady Vanessa cardui butterflies are immigrants travelling thousands of miles from North Africa, using the sun as a compass, and breeding and producing further generations as they go. Some years the UK has hardly any Painted ladies, and some years like 2009 we have millions!!!
This year seems to be a great year for immigrants, I have seen over 20 Clouded yellows now in 4 different locations!!
I am waiting to see a Large tortoiseshell, Camberwell beauty and Queen of spain fritillary.........well you can dream!!!
Thanks for dropping by :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.