Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Edelweiss

I cannot be holidaying in Switzerland without having a photo of Edelweiss in my journal. Edelweiss (also one of the first songs I learnt to play on the piano as a child!) is a well known mountain flower belonging to the sunflower family and is known as the national symbol of Switzerland. It is a rare flower and grows in rocky places at 1800-3000m altitude - I have never seen one in the wild, this was growing in the local council gardens where it had been planted. It is a peculiar star shaped flower that appears woolly, reminding me of a spider.

After all the excitement of the A level results yesterday Luke has gone off for a week in France, organised by the school, whereby he attends French language classes in the morning and spends the afternoon doing French cultural activities. As he is in Antibes I wonder if the cultural activities include chatting up bikini clad beauties on the beach, en Francais of course! He is being billeted with a local family so I hope that goes well.

Then it is back to school and UCAS forms, personal statements and university applications and there is no guarantee how that will turn out, good results or not!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.