1969

Okay now stick with me on this one.

The image was taken early this morning as I enjoyed a stroll in the drizzle before breakfast. I then went to today's visit where I waited 40 minutes at the gate because someone forgot to tell someone else that I was there and needed collecting. Lovely visit though and a tour of the establishment so that was all good.

Then I headed out to the motorway. Exeter to Bristol isn't far in the whole scheme of things but it's taken a very long time because of holiday traffic and accidents.

So now I'm in a hotel in Filton which brings me to the title of this blip. To nerds like me Filton evokes one special memory. In the same year that Neil made "one small step" Brian put the pedal to the metal and Concorde 02 roared into the sky above Bristol on its maiden flight. Because it was an Anglo-French gig the first Concorde prototype flew in France, at Toulouse, and the UK built prototype took off a few weeks later. I was lucky enough to see Concorde a few times when I worked at Manchester Airport and later, once I was down south, coming out of Heathrow and it was always a joy. So that's Filton in my head. It's also where I now plan to grab a Friday beer. The weekend and my holiday starts here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.