Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Camping

I was booked to photograph a horse show some time ago. Without wheels it was going to be very difficult for me to get myself and equipment on site, given the early start. Problem solved, Peter and Angie picked me up in the afternoon, with the dogs and a tent as extras and we camped overnight on site. It made sense. They had their photographer, who couldn't turn up late and I avoided a very early start.

The added bonus was a lovely evening together with friends, a good meal and time to catch up which would have been impossible during the show. We had everything set up by dusk leaving us free to enjoy the evening . Ange and I walked the dogs by torch light, in thick mist, around the perimeter of the 30 acre field before turning in for the night.

The land runs parallel to the Gatwick runway. Planes take off every few minutes until midnight and it was rather noisy. It does quieten down but the dogs must have heard more of the constant hum from the airport than I and took extra persuasion to settle down but soon they were sleeping soundly at my feet giving me an undisturbed night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.