What Are Our Eyes Fixed On?

It's always amazed me how I can be looking right at something and not see it. I can remember walking the beach not so long ago, and concentrating on the specific shape, size and color of the shells that I was searching for because there was this immense bed of distractions before me, I would miss dozens of choices if I wasn't focused on the exact image. If I wasn't fixed on it.

I'm supposing now, but I'm beginning to believe that my day could be looked at in the same way. Lots of choices to act upon, and dozens of opportunities to be a moment changer.

My sister has that ability when it comes to certain foods and music. Today it was food. As we drove over a high-point of the road she spotted the golden arches tucked away amongst a jungle of structures. I can only guess by her excited reaction that she saw nothing else but the arches. She saw through her view finder the image that meant something to her. All the other structures were just clutter around her discovery.

What if our image was the sick, the lost, the suffering... What images mean the most to us. What images pop out in our view finders? What are our eyes fixed on?

So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. (2 Corinthians 4:18)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.