An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Pay attention at the back...

Backblip


I shall be asking questions later…

Good day today. We had family and friends round to celebrate Alan’s birthday.

Alan’s not a big celebrator of birthdays but I don’t like the day to pass unmarked so a wee get together of close family and friends with some food and wine and much laughter is the order of the day. Alan usually spends much of the time in another room watching tv or listening to music but today he had his pal Andrew visiting again. He enjoyed him being here but I think there was once or twice he wished Andrew would stop talking. He really is a chatterbox :)

Today was extra special as my Auntie Maisie from Kent is up visiting her brother, so was able to come along. She’s actually my mum’s cousin but they were like sisters. And she reminds me so much of my gran in looks and mannerisms. I caught my breath a couple of times when I looked at her. She has a week left of her holiday so I will see her again next week when I can have a proper catch up with her.

Everyone was here for 2pm and left around 9pm apart from our nephew Andrew who stayed and chatted till 11pm. We don’t see him that often so that was lovely.

Fell into bed at 11.30 absolutely shattered.

Now………as mentioned earlier, I have a question.

I decided for a number of reasons (mainly the hassles with my leg at the mo) to use outside catering for the buffet today. I used a place that I know well and love their food. I did balk a little when given the cost per head but knowing how good this place is and how delicious the food is, I went ahead.

David went to collect the food at 12 noon. He put the dishes on the island in the kitchen and shut the kitchen door. I asked him if he was bringing the rest of the stuff in and he said that was it.

So here’s what we have :-

a plate of ham
a quiche
a bowl of coleslaw
a bowl of broccoli and onion salad
a bowl of potato salad
a plate of mozzarella, tomato and basil
a plate with an assortment of tray bakes

Now, here comes the question. How much would you say was a fair price for this buffet? It was a buffet for 10 so happy for you to give me total price or a price per head.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.