West Coaster

By WestCoaster

50 Shades of Grey!!!

The day really remained overcast all day, the sun tried hard but the early promise of warmth slipped away sadly undelivered the chill returned in the evening. I walked, taking to the hills above the village, with the overbearing sky obscuring the sun it felt dark early, but as many a voices saying these last few days, the nights are fair drawing in now an expression I associate with my maternal grandfather. Breaching the top of the hill the wind struck me full on, my plans to head out towards Langbank soon changing as the blackness rolled quickly up the river as dark as the Earl of Hells Waistcoat, driven by the wind, the rain was coming and I really didnt want to get a soaking tonight.

I cut off the hill path and cut across the fields to the road, I had a shot in mind which may save my blipping bacon for the day. I heaved myself up the embankment and climbed over the fence, joining the old single track road that clings to the side of the hill I then I scrambled up over the bank and into the far fields. My shot to be taken along the power pylon line heading east west behind the village. The noise of the wind whistling through the lines was eerie, no ambient noise tonight, no birdsong, any noise from the beasts carried away on the wind. I walked to the high point of the line standing under one of the giant pylons feeling insignificant, dwarfed by the sheer. A little glimpse of orange lifted away the multitude of greys for no more than a minute and a few frames shot I sat and let the wind buffet me alone for a few moments with my thoughts.

As I stood to leave a spit of rain greeted me, I glanced down the line and thought how the Pylons reminded me of the War of the Worlds and the Martian machines, the musical version is one of those pieces of music I love and play often, tonight, alone on the hills I sang Forever Autumn to myself as I walked, another song that means a lot to me.

I sit and write now with my pint of steaming tea, I hope you enjoy the shot, and I hope wherever you are you are safe and sound, out of the weather and enjoying the last remnants of the weekend

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.