Mikey88

By Mikey88

Chase

First of all, apologies for the quality of the picture. I'd like to say the blur was deliberate, but the light wasn't very good and the kingfishers were on the other side of the river in the dark under the trees, so shutter speed was too slow for a sharp picture.

However, excuses made, I did like the way the colours showed up against the dark mud and water - and you can see that they aren't playing games! Kingfishers are agressive and have been known to kill rival birds.

I had gone down to the river just to get out of the house and was about three quarters of the way round the walk. There wasn't much about and it wasn't looking too promising - there is rarely much to shoot late afternoon/evening - so I was pleased when I saw two birds hurtling along on the far side of the river. I tracked them and was delighted to see that they were a couple of kingfishers - one in hot pursuit of the other.

I managed about four shots before they disappeared behind some reeds, so I turned and began to walk back, hoping at least one of them would have perched where I could see it, but no luck. As I went past the end of the reeds, it flew out almost from under my feet - too quick for the lens to focus - and disappeared downriver.

I went back to the car, keeping an eye out, but I didn't see it again, so called it a day and went home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.