Mikey88

By Mikey88

Shillamill Viaduct

Spent the morning concentrating on printing out a set of photos that I had done for a friend's father's funeral. Printing is a real pain in the neck - something always goes wrong somewhere. Got there in the end.

In the afternoon I went into Tavistock and on the way out stopped off for a short walk. I went down a lane which runs alongside the Tavy, but despite being close to the river, there wasn't much to take a picture of. A buzzard flew across, but I wasn't quite quick enough to get it in focus and that was about it.

As I walked back, this view along the valley to the viaduct opened up. The viaduct carried the Plymyouth to Tavistock branch of the railway, but the line was closed in the sixties. It must have been quite an impressive sight, seeing steam trains crossing the viaduct. There is talk about reopening the line - but that will be at the cost of some seven hundred new houses on the edge of Tavistock. I'm not sure it's worth the price.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.