Mikey88

By Mikey88

Exit

What a morning! I got out early, arriving down at the river by about quarter to seven. The tide was in and there was no wind at all, so the surface of the river was totally unruffled and there were some fantastic reflections as I set off on the walk.

I got some shots of the sedge against the low sunlight and some nice shots of a wren. Then I reached the point where I'd taken the picture of the two kingfishers a couple of days ago and there they were again. This time they weren't chasing each other - they were fishing and I spent the next hour and a half with the camera on the tripod and the 2x extender on, shooting them as they dived and posed on the branches and fallen trees across the river.

In reality, they were a bit too far away, and I've had to crop the pictures to get them reasonable large in the frame. I got quite a few 'almost' shots, of them emerging from the water and arrowing down as they dived to catch a fish, but they were not quite sharp enough.

This is the best action shot I managed. I hope you can see it clearly enough. The kingfisher has just emerged from the water after an unsuccessful dive and you can just see the splash of water behind it.

What a special morning! That is what photography can do for you - get you out into places you may not usually go and at times that you wouldn't normally even be out of bed, enabling you to see sights normally hidden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.