The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Surprised!!!

On my way to Crawley today I decided to visit Wimland road, a favourite place of mine in spring for it's Orange tips and fantastic array of early spring flowers. As I was driving up the hill (to take a panoramic picture of the surrounding countryside), I noticed some Sedum growing on the roadside verge, and knowing it is irresistible to butterflies I went back to investigate.
There was indeed a blue nectaring on the Sedum, but that wasn't what caught my eye. Instead I was drawn to the large brown butterfly swooping and gliding past my left ear with carefree finesse!
I followed it, and when it landed went to investigate, thinking it was a Comma. Imagine my surprise to find not a Comma, but a female Silver washed fritillary Argynnis paphia!!!
She was tatty for sure but she could still fly well and looked to have been a very well marked specimen a few weeks ago! I have NEVER seen Silver washed frits in this location before, so I was well pleased.....it certainly is turning out to be an interesting year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.