Life is like a river

By Gunnlaug

On mountain Bolafjall

It's been an awesome day!

We slept well during the night, even though there was no electricity for the heater, and in the morning we saw the sights in Flateyri. We visitied Dellusafnið (a museum of collections) and Bræðurnir Eyjólfsson, an antique bookstore and museum.

Around lunchtime we drove through the enormous tunnel to Suðureyri to go swimming...well, actually it was just a soak in the hot tub and sunbathing... and it was splendid! Sun, water, coffee and people-watching; Just what I love the most!

Then it was through the tunnels again, all the way to Ísafjörður. We had a great afternoon looking at beautiful old houses, eating at a local restaurant and having coffee and a giant doughnut in the Old Bakery (founded in 1871).

In the evening we drove up on mountain Bolafjall, just outside of Bolungarvík. The United States Airforce had a general surveillance radar station up there, but it's now closed.

I couldn't resist taking this photo and had to use a tripod and timer, since my husband told me I was mad and he would surely not be the one to take the last photo ever to be taken of me! So I just set up the camera and danced about a little in front of the lens. Great isn't it???!

And it's even better LARGE

More photos from the day can be found HERE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.