Kipper Cabin

By KipperCabin

Shot straight into the hedge ....

.... probably ten years ago, finally recovered today.

Kipper Cabin is hedged with fifteen foot laurels on three sides. Very labour intensive, laurels are. The hedge has been seriously encroaching on the pond the past year or two, so this past spring I hired a brave and handsome young man with a wobbly ladder and a rather large chain saw to cut it back to its bones. Oh, it'll fill in again, all lush and lovely ... by next spring.

But, the hard cut revealed a foot deep of semi decomposed leaves and twigs along the base. I've averted my eyes most of the summer. Today I attacked. Raked the mess out. And during the process I came across a number of interesting items ... including but not limited to, a stubby beer bottle, a rusty hack saw, and that there up above.

At first glance it appeared to be one of those innocuous bamboo arrows I've mentioned before. I didn't have my specs on at the time, so I held it up real close to my face, squinted righteously, and thought "That looks rather pointy. Oh jaysus! It's a rusty old nail cellotaped to the end of a bit of bamboo!!"

What I'd like to know, though, where are the parents when these dangerous young weapon makers are crafting their ammunition??!! I know where they are. They're sat round a campfire supping wine! That's where they are!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.