Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Leaving Camp

Oskar and his Dad bringing the stuff down in the golf cart to the boat to go home after a week of Camp. The parents came last night for just one night and we so hoped for a great day on the water today. Not to be. Very windy. H and I were rather desperate for some exercise and a row so we did go out in our Alden, but not so much fun and it didn't calm down til late afternoon again and the boys and their parents were on their way home. Now Tatum and her parents and sister will be here all this week (we don;t have to be the sole camp directors!)and a friend of Tatum's arrives tomorrow for 4 days. We'll see how it goes with girls, not boys....

H and I are exhausted. Actually he has some virus thingy so is even more than exhausted. I always have grand plans for things I want the kids to experience and learn and altho they seem to have a great time, we never quite manage to do what I envision. The weather was disappointing, there wasn't enough outdoor time for me, although less videos (more minecraft games on their DSs), and when in the studio they all have something different in mind they want to make. ( Not my plan -I'd make a terrible kid art teacher) They have Swedish pancakes every single morning and we did finish our survival book. (My side of the Mountain) with much discussion of how we would do in that situation. Could not get them to sleep in the tent OR the screened in porch ("Why would I want to do that when I can sleep in this comfortable bed?") and we didn't take a very long hike (lots of short ones tho) ... But there were very few "snits" and no one got more than a skinned knee and blackberry scratches on our watch so that is a success. I find I really really dislike board games, but the card game "Set" was fun. (Oskar was the best at it.)
That's my mini review of Camp 2013....maybe I will revise it after a good night's sleep. :-)

NO one is sleeping in the cabin with us this evening so I'm catching up with my blip - in the first Quiet in a week... ! have backblipped yesterday....Which was a very fun activity....

Hope to have more time this week (with parents help) so I can get around to more looking at your journals! Now that we have internet, I just need some more time of my own. but Fiona is here too.... :-) !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.