Mollymay

By mollymay49

Work

I was wondering today what would I do for the Topic? work? Mmm now retired, although a very busy nan, Mondays is my quiet day for catching up on domestic jobs (boring to say the least) went for morning tea at the Dome cafe with my friend after chores complete! felt guilty when i got back because i had left Milo, a long walk was in order.
So camera in one hand Milo's lead in the other off we went, this is where my work started! Looking for a blip! So to cut a long story short here is my hard work for today..
I could hear them! then i spotted three in this half dead looking tree, I have been trying this last month to blip the Carnaby Black Cockatoo, My hands were shaking i couldn't believe they were so close! Then I captured this one! Blip!

The Carnaby or short billed black cockatoo as he is sometimes called is endemic to Southwest W.A and is one of our threatened species, although we have quite a few here in the North that have been breeding in Yanchep National Park just up the road from where we live.

Their population has declined by 50% in the last 45 years, they live in pairs or small groups during breeding season, their young will move with them from breeding areas to feeding areas, where other family groups join the flock, they can live up to 40-45 years.

There is a recovery programme in place to assist in rural areas also in the North East in breeding programmes also to assist in restoring their habitat, by revegetation, and repairing old hollowed out trees where they nest, instead of chopping them down and discarding, also feeding sites are now in place. There is a long way to go and is still ongoing.

I love the screech they make when they fly over our house (at the moment its been every night) just as the sun goes down, its good to see a good size flock, it gives hope that they will be around for a long time to come...
A good days work!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.