The Pevensie Dilemma

By PevensieDilemma

Who Will Fill Your Shoes?

I received news this morning that a friend lost her long battle with cancer at the weekend.

My heart is with her husband and two boys as they embark on their own journey into an unexplored and uncharted future.

I was immediately sad to hear of her passing - Sad that I didn't get the chance to say goodbye - And angry with myself that I didn't make more time to visit in the last twelve months as she battled another recurrence of the disease.

I cried a lot for my friend.

As I walked through some of my own emotions, I began to recall why she was such a beautiful and wonderful person.

She had a determination and resilience that I've not witnessed in many people - Almost a stubbornness to never give up hope.

Several years ago - before she went into remission, I had the privilege of walking beside her as she made herself available for experimental stem cell treatment.

She allowed me a glimpse into her world - A world of tubes and needles and invasive procedures.

We talked a lot during these times - Often candidly and transparently.

Language takes on a whole new meaning when the landscape is so uncertain.

I was given the chance to share some of my own journey - To talk about my faith and my hope.

But the real delight was being able to spend time with an incredible human being - A lady who had stared into deaths eyes again and again but refused to be intimidated.


Yes, I will miss my friend.

And yes, I will undoubtedly cry some more.

But the enrichment that her life brought to mine is what remains.

The shift in my heart's perspective as a result of her tenacity is what I'll always be thankful for.


We fill our own shoes when we're here on Earth.

We're the only ones who are qualified.

We fill them with our life stories and experiences.

We fill them with great friendships and relationships.

We fill them with joy and sometimes sadness.

We fill them with meaning.

We fill them with memories.


And when we leave, we take our shoes.

...But the filling stays

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.