ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

EnviroMatt (TM)

Pentax K1000, Kodak BW400CN, ISO 400 note to self: When shooting against a bright background, up the aperture size...

What a day! Got up really early this morning to get the house in a fit state for Mum and Dad's arrival tomorrow - I even ironed the bedsheets (because I was pretty embarrassed about the state of the pillowcases they got last time - they looked like they'd been screwed in a ball for two weeks before they got put on the pillows)!

I had a meeting that was supposed to be a quickie, but took two hours, then when I got back to the office they'd started serving beer in preparation for the BBQ later on! I didn't feel at my most productive work-wise today...! At 3.30pm the whole office piled onto two buses to Kippie Lodge, just out of town, for the hog roast. The weather was showery, but when we arrived we gathered in a big greenhouse with a bar, and stood under the glass while the rain hammered down. It was on and off, so we kept walking outside, then running in again, for the whole evening. The roast itself was quite impressive but I was quite surprised as a non-squeamish person that it bothered me so much that the roast looked like a pig. I ended up eating a very un-cow-shaped beef burger instead.

It was Matt's last day in our office today and he was wearing a T-shirt that could be drawn on, so we spent a while gathering signatures and generally making pests of ourselves. He's going to work as a contractor for an Operator, and we've decided that his company name should be EnviroMatt (TM) - which sounds a little superhero-ish. I decided I needed a photo of him in superhero mode, so made him jump off a fairly high wall and pose for me. It's not our problem if he shows up at his new job on Monday morning on crutches! The bar was free and it was a really good opportunity to chat to folk in other departments who we hardly ever see, as well as those seconded out to client offices.

At 9.00 the buses came and we piled in and annoyed the bus driver all the way back to town - he was super-paranoid that a few folk had brought on bottles of wine with them and were going to spill them. No chance; that would have been a waste of booze!

Since we'd started our night out so early a few folk were wanting to carry on the fun in one of the bars near the office, but I'd started to get sleepy so headed home for a bowl of cereal before bed. M had been out with the boys and I only just managed to stay awake until he came home, then we crashed out in bed. Looking forward to Edinburgh tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.