As and When

By IronLantern

"That's not the Quinjet"

Got a Lego Star Wars mini-set in the paper today (Z-95 Headhunter for the Jedi amongst you). I'm pretty happy with how Stark's expression has come out in this, considering the lack of flexibility in Danish mini-figures. A nice marriage between two now-Disney properties.

- - -
The week.

A fairly busy week on the whole. Met a lot of people from my past and present. Started a few projects that have been in the works, which has made me feel somewhat productive.

Monday, I played some squash with Shaahin and Callers.
Received a present from Richard, a map where you scratch away the countries that you have visited. A great gift from a great friend.
Spent the night in the garden trying to catch the Perseid meteor shower on camera. Using my birthday present from Axel, I somehow fashioned an intervalometer, and let it go. Astrophotography is pretty difficult, but it was good night to try as it was very, very clear, and well, there were meteors in the sky.

Tuesday evening, I headed into London to meet Charlotte and watch Despicable Me 2. It didn't have the same surprise that the first one gave me, but fricking hilarious nonetheless.
I was also able to change my flash at Jessops on Oxford Street. It is annoying that is the closest store to me, but hey, I got a replacement before my warranty ran out.

Having stayed the night in London, I bid Charlotte farewell in the morning, and went back to Jessops to play with the Fujifilm X20. A very attractive, premium compact camera, which has some good reviews. It is looking to be my secondary camera.
While still in London, I impulsively contacted David to see if could visit ATOC and my old work colleagues. Made my way to Barbican, and met David to see the new office, and what had changed. It was a shame that a lot of the team had either left or were out of office, but was nice to see Ione and Bryan. Crazy to think that I left there over 3 years ago.

Another squash session on Friday, with coffee in Sevenoaks. Trying to get fitter, but motivation is severely lacking at the moment. I fear the Spartan Race is going to be a tough feat.

Another trip to London on Saturday, to meet up with Richard, David and Emma. Walked around London and had lunch at Chipotle. Then got lost and walked up and around Marylebone, trying to visit Charlotte at work. Went to Selfridges for the first time, and was surprised that I got to see a number of 4K TVs. Unbelievable resolution and clarity, and unbelievable prices; I fully geeked out.
Took a new Met line train (very nice) to Northwood, for an aunt's surprise 50th party. Good fun, didn't know a huge amount of people there, but great to talk to some I hadn't seen in a while.

It was that day that I realised that I am officially no longer a child. I was more interested in talking about politics and careers with the older generation, than I was talking "nonsense" with the younger people. However, it's a point of limbo; too old to endure teenager talk, but not old enough to fully engage with old people. It was an interesting epiphany to have, might change my view at future family gatherings.
- - -

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.