As and When

By IronLantern

A Pun The Horizon

Back after another long hiatus, let's see what happens this time. New blip, and more importantly, new journal name. Goodbye, No editing required...!

The name change was needed on two counts; I've slowly started editing photos, so that kills it straightaway. And the second is that, recently I haven't had any drive to upload, or even take a photo a day. But there have been times that I would like to post a picture, so thought the journal name should reflect that.

Long live, As and When!

I'll post sporadically, probably with Lego and/or superhero related pictures, but it most likely won't be an ongoing thing. Now, I don't feel so bad that it's been nearly 2 years, and I haven't hit 100 blips.

---
A bit of background

Back in Sri Lanka after 18 months, and back at Sun N Sea, where sunsets are always amazing. Wasn't sure when I would be heading back to Colombo, so thought I should get a sunset photo in case.
Took a few shots, and had an overwhelming urge to edit them, specifically on the iPad Air (yes, I finally have an iPad). I wanted to see how it would feel, using a touchscreen to edit. Now that Apple give you iPhoto for free with new iPads and iPhones, seemed like a good start. I also thought to give Snapseed a go, a company Google bought around a year ago. Google vs. Apple, in a very different way.


Both have been built for the large canvas, with Snapseed being very gesture/swipe-based. They are very powerful tools, but I felt iPhoto offered more control for someone who knew what they wanted to do. It has very nice controls for exposure, contrast and brightness. A great app for free, but having used it, I would pay the normal £2.99.

Snapseed is a great starter tool, but it groups tools under generic names, that wouldn't be entirely intuitive to a pro. I can see it being very powerful though, if you take the time to learn the controls. An incredible app, and it's free.

Overall, I enjoyed editing on the iPad, much more than I do on the laptop. Obviously, with the computer you have a lot more control and features, but for the casual adjustments that I make, the iPad is a winner. Might get the SD connector when I get back.

---
The Photo

I ended up using iPhoto wholly to edit this one, event though I did try sending it to Snapseed to add a gradient effect, but alas, it didn't do what I needed.
Didn't take much time to compose this one, as I was chatting with family.
Pretty happy with the result, all things considered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.