Raestelle

By Raestelle

"If You've Forgotten"...

...Some of the good old Traditional Scottish Recipes - well here are some of them for you, save trying to find them in your recipe books..A gift from my Mum many years ago..

...There are a couple of good recipes there on this old tea- towel - but I think I, myself, even with a Scottish Ancestral Tie from Dalhuane and Inverness and Tomintoul and Aberdeen - would forget about the Haggis though - it looks to me, myself - not to be a good idea to attempt in our kitchen these days..

...And I'm not sure if I'd even attempt to make the Cock-A-Leekie Soup with a whole chook in the saucepan, - I think I'd be adding more vegies to that one - but the Shortbread and the Potato Scones - well, I could manage those, no trouble at all, and the Forfar Bridies look a little like our Pasties, but they have vegetables in them as well as the mince (a little turnip too) and some are called Cornish Pasties, well known in the State of my birth..as a lot of tin miners settled in South Australia, bringing with them, their wonderful recipes..as did the German folk, and Italians, and Greek..

...Well, as for the tea- towel itself - it is 46 years old, and a little worn, I see where the silverfish have had a jolly good go at it somewhere in our travels, and there's a hole in the middle of it as well, but try not to look at that...(Best to read on LARGE..)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.