Goodbye Sun!

This is my last morning at Sun in Menlo Park. My project is finished and handed over, I have debriefed with my sponsor and my office is nearly tidied.

I owe a debt of thanks to my sponsor and manager for my time here. I have learned a huge amount, met some great people, and had a lot of fun too. Being at Sun has given me the chance to work in an environment completely different to anything I have done before, and has really brought a lot of what I learned at Babson to life.

Of course it's also goodbye in another sense, as Sun will almost certainly cease to exist as an entity in the near future as a result of the Oracle takeover. I have worked with Sun software and equipment since I started my undergraduate degree nearly 16 years ago, and the brand is in many ways an icon of the dot com boom and has never quite recovered from th subsequent bust. I wish everyone at Sun all the best for the future at an uncertain time, and I hope that Oracle will prove to be good custodians of what Sun has built.

So with huge thanks, it's goodbye from me, and goodbye from Sun.

Now all I have to do is pack, clean the appartment and survive the flight home...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.