One step at a time!

By IanO

Airbus factory

Very interesting site visit today to see a customer at the Airbus factory in Broughton near Chester. It is here that the wings are manufactured for the huge Airbus A380 jetliner.

The whole factory is of gigantic proportions, over 7,500 people work here. Once I'd signed in and been issued with the correct security clearances I was driven a couple of miles down the road to the other side of the airfield and given a tour of the building where the wings are constructed. This is the largest building in Europe with an unsupported roof, it also houses the largest paint-shop in the world.

Some facts concerning the size of the jetliner.

The completed aeroplane can carry 853 passengers, has a cruising distance of almost 10,000 miles at an airspeed of 560 mph. It takes 3,600 litres of paint to cover the exterior of the plane. There is over 330 miles of wiring, 98,000 wires and 40,000 connectors.

I was not permitted to take photographs in the factory (no matter how many times I asked) but here's an image of a small corner of the factory that was previously approved.

Ian my guide was very interested to learn about Blip and even suggested a local vantage point (I wasn't aware of) where I can get a good overview of the factory (that's a Blip for another day sorted). It was so interesting that I didn't want to leave but thought I'd better let Ian get on with his day job.

Probably not worth going large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.