Anniemay

By Anniemay

Hidden

Do we ever reach an age when we could have our mothers come to stay without spending at least a day cleaning the house just in case she spots a speck of dirt somewhere? My mother is 87 and is coming to stay, on Friday, for a week. In days gone by she would think nothing of getting out a cloth and cleaning the top of a door frame I’d neglected to clean or wiping a skirting board that didn’t pass muster. So today has been spent finding dirt wherever it might be hiding and getting rid of it so that my mother won’t thing she raised a slut for a daughter. That’s been my fear for so many years and I can’t shake it!!!!

When I was cleaning out one of the kitchen cupboards hidden at the very back was this little stash of goodies. Sherbert Lemons, Haribo Sour Cherries, some Fruit Pastilles and a box of Edinburgh Rock which Igor got for me because I had never heard of it and apparently I couldn’t leave this Earth without tasting it. It does taste pretty good I must admit but then it’s made of sugar so why wouldn’t it. As I pulled out the bags I remembered why they’re there. They’re there for days just like today!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.