Anniemay

By Anniemay

Satisfying

I had planned to go for a bike ride this morning, with my friend Sally. She lives in Aylesbury so I promised to show her the sights of Milton Keynes which is blessed with a very extensive network of cycle paths. The weather has been so good this Summer that I must have got complacent and stopped looking at weather forecasts. I have come to expect every day to be as warm and sunny as the one before.

When I woke up this morning there was the familiar but forgotten sound of heavy rain. It was clear very quickly that there would be no bike riding today. Sally came over anyway, without her bike, and we drove to the place we would have cycled to. By the time we got there the rain had stopped and it had brightened up a little, enough for us to go for a walk round the lake after our cup of tea at the cafe.

The sky was still grey and overcast but this was the satisfying view we got from the other side of the lake. The water was almost like glass and the reflections were good. We would have preferred to be out on our bikes but we were quite satisfied with our lovely walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.