Artistic Hard Labour...

I reckon trying to find order from seemingly randomness is part of the human condition. Trying to rationalise and suppress natural entropy in the world around us in order to understand or control it.

This and dry stone wall building is an excellent example of this. A load of randomly quarried rocks are taken and arranged to form the uniform shape of a wall. The wall then takes random areas of land and assigns them into defined sections.

I was quite chuffed to find this wall in mid-build as this type of rustic wall just seems to be there. I think this is the first time I've seen one being built

What was equally interesting was that the two builders were friendly and seemed to enjoy their work. They were very amenable to answering my questions about the process of constructing the wall. They sounded very proud and rightly so, of their work. An artistic piece of hard labour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.