Photogen

By Photogen

Apple Harvest

Apple Day in the UK is October 21st. However if I waited till then to blip my little apple tree there would be nothing on it. It's at its peak now although it does not bear a massive crop. I am enjoying chomping my way through two a day. The clump depicted on the right was photographed just after the rain went off, making them look fresh and tempting. Others have developed some scabby patches, although I just remove and the flesh is fine underneath.

The apple has lots of symbolic meaning in our culture not least - "An apple a day keeps the doctor away". It's also how Eve seduced Adam, and an apple with a bite out of it is the symbol of my lovely AppleMac!

The pigeons were congregating under the feeders today and I managed to capture three of them, - just and no more - shooting into the air above the tree as I rounded the corner. It needed a fast shutter speed to freeze their flapping wings which meant a high ISO setting, with the Cybershot lens at its maximum optical zoom.

Camera: Sony Cybershot
Tree: ISO 1600: 35.3 mm: f/8: 1/1,250th
Apples: ISO 800: 10.4: f/9: 1/160th

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.