Good Maize

Some may remember my two Blips back in May of a large tree followed by two smaller one's attacked by a beaver. As predicted, the 2nd smaller tree has now gone and the beavers have left the big tree for the autumn. However they are still there and we went to have a look today.

On the bottom right you can see the beavers slide which leads straight to the only maize field on this side of the river. In the water, centre top, there is a floating maize plant, one of about 10 at this area. So the beavers are at least happy to have some maize and allow them to store some energy before the attack on the big tree starts.

Fabulous day getting up to around 27°C but with a cooling breeze which is my ideal working weather. However got pleasantly held up by Birgit's "coffee/wound visit", dealing with a fax/email (horse) matter in Texas, USA for friend Kathi (nice to make use of my mother tongue to help someone out) and then a long chat with good friend and colleague Matthias who is at home in Bavaria at the moment, spending most of his time in hotels & planes in the USA. We had to end our call as Birgit turned up and I wanted to call back this evening but as usual in summer, we were busy outside until it was dark, then cooked, ate and it was then close to 11:00pm.

Quirky aside: given how the Germans are so precise in their bureaucracy, it has often struck me as strange that to get a British passport you just need photos signed by two "trustworthy" persons. Matthias and another colleague, both with Dr titles (Physics) signed mine, people totally unknown to the British authorities. I once had to get my signature witnessed by a solicitor here, so I went to the one who knew me well from house transactions - it cost me 300 Euros and I had to (re) show him my passport. Law says he has to charge a % of the value of the document I signed (was as executor of a UK Will), as he has to take out an insurance policy to cover himself, for this value, if he has made a mistake in witnessing my signature! Luckily Matthias was not aware of what he could have charged me.

Did manage to do some chainsaw work on a pile of logs I should have done back in March. Thought it might help the pile of stones in my kidneys but made the mistake of using the electric version. Need to get the petrol one out tomorrow and get some good vibrations. Physical work did my head good though. Dogs got a long ride out with Angie & Sultan this evening, another advantage of the cooler, near fly free evenings. The pool is now an icy 25°C so Angie will be happier. We should all sleep well tonight.

Think positive - less than 48 hours until Friday evenings G&T - almost there.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.