The Memory Organisation...

I remember Alexi Sayle having a wee skit on something where he explained his theory on memory. It sort of went along the lines memory being a last FiFo FirstIn FirstOut type thing. He wondered if you'd get to a point where your memory just doesn't take anymore and as soon as you learn something new, another memory disappears. His example was of someone telling him a useless fact like a capital of an obscure country then forgetting how to walk.

I started reading the first Sherlock Holmes story and it describes a similar thing in Holmes where he only retains useful facts and information in order to keep his mind efficient with only the things he needs in his head to aid him in his work.

I think I experienced something like it today. I've been trying to keep on top of all the things I need to organise for heading down to London that I've started forgetting silly wee things that normally just slot into place.

Put something on the table earlier to take it with me when I went out. Completely forgot it. Dinner, was all sorted until it came time to cook it and... forgot to defrost the meat. Not big things, but a bit disconcerting when I realised it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.