Silesia

M and J picked me up from home earlyish and when I had managed to find a pair of clean socks we (or rather they) drove across Poland, stopping for something to eat on the other side of Warsaw. The roads to the West are considerably better. The journey was long but I think we managed to swap a long list of jokes and stories on the way. M and J (on his holidays from Germany) had spent a few days in our area and M and Ml had very kindly offered me a couple of nights at theirs in a completely different area to ours. Ml comes not a hundred miles from where I do and has been in Poland since the 80's, including pre 1989. She had stayed at home to care for the horse and cats.

Silesia is the corner of Poland that borders with the Czech Republic and Germany. In this part there are more towns than my memory can hold, all fairly close together, even merging quite often. Some of them would probably like to merge into one but they were stopped from doing it apparently. Whilst it is the industrial heart of Poland there are lots of forests and farmland and equestrian centres. I didn't know what to expect to find here, but I was very pleasantly surprised. Not far from here was the 'provocation' which was the start of the 2nd WW.

This J's mother's old house. It was still light enough to take a shot. The roof tiles are still the original ones.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.