Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Killer BLT

When our friend Sheryl brought us some home grown tomatoes yesterday (the only kind worth eating), I had to dash to the store for some bacon for my annual BLT (bacon, lettuce and tomato sandwich for those who are unfamiliar). It's a sandwich like no other.

But I realized the blip wasn't going to be about the tomatoes or the bacon - but about Dave's Killer Bread -- a bread with a story. Dave is an ex-con who served 15 years in prison before turning his life around and getting into the bread baking business, something his father was successful at all his adult life. Dave started selling his bread at the local farmers market, then was picked up by a couple of local stores. Dave’s Killer Bread is currently available in Oregon, Washington, California, Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Utah, Arizona and Nevada.

His is an inspiring story. If you spend a little time on the DKB website, you'll come across a video that tells his story and explains that about 30% of his workforce are ex-cons. He does a lot of public service work including speaking in prisons.

And it's damn good bread!

In Dave's words:
I was a four-time loser before I realized I was in the wrong game. 15 years in prison is a pretty tough way to find oneself, but I have no regrets. This time around, I took advantage of all those long and lonely days by practicing my guitar, exercising, and getting to know myself – without drugs. To my utter amazement, I started liking what I was seeing. It’s been said adversity introduces a man to himself and I found this to be true. If I had not suffered, I can safely assure you that you would not be reading the label on a loaf of my killer bread. A whole lot of suffering has transformed an ex-con into an honest man who is doing his best to make the world a better place…one loaf of bread at a time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.