Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Done! ...almost

Today I had my last official classes at the Voice Institute for my apprenticeship program!!!! It hardly seems possible that 11.5 months have gone by.

And then I think about all I have studied and learned: besides voice lessons, voice coaching and co-teaching, I've studied keyboard, musicianship (theory plus), English diction, French diction, German diction, teaching principles, techniques and methodology, inquiry, yoga for singers, choir, anatomy and physiology, the International Phonetic Alphabet, the physics of music -- and I've taken on 3 practicum students and 7 private students. No wonder I'm bone tired.

I still have my assessment to finish, but I'm about 70% done with it. The photo is from one of my many study sessions. I've been a bit obsessed with it lately.

After our seminar tonight, we all just drifted away -- no big party or group hug. We will be back for a couple of make-up classes, and there will be a graduation ceremony in a month or two, but it seemed so anti-climactic. I think we were all completely exhausted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.