Charlie17

By Charlie17

Don't Start!

I don't really spend a lot of time reminiscing but here is my third reminiscence this week!!!
These cigarette card and boxes belong to a friend I visit.
He's quite a bit older than me and he was telling me that when he was a boy, in about1933, he collected these.
He lived near Wigan Rugby Club grounds and when men were on their way to the match, they would give the boys the cards from their packets of cigarettes.

A bit of a coincidence there is a Nigella here. She doesn't seem to have aged at all in 80 years!
When I was a boy, I used to collect cards that came with bubble gum. There were footballers, flags and other things that I can't remember.

"I quit smoking and it was a very disappointing experience. I found out that my teeth are really brown." Bill Dana

P.S. I've been an ex-smoker for about thirty years and I still kinda miss it, hence the title.


Sent from my iPad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.