Tadpoleview

By tadpoleview

Air Ambulance

Flying day again today and decided to fly to Henstridge. A new airfield for me as I've never been there before. Amongst other things it is the base for the Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance which lifted off while we were enjoying an early lunch from the restaurant. I could of course have blipped the plate of egg and bacon and mushroom and sausage and tomatoes and ... but I didn't want you all drooling over your computers or I-phones!

The tarmac runway at Henstridge is interesting in that it has a concrete section in the middle to represent an aircraft carrier deck, presumably from its days as Royal Naval Air Station Henstridge (HMS Dipper), but we didn't need to use that as we stopped before it on landing, and were well above it on take off.

I don't think I'll be doing practice carrier landings for a good time yet! But I may be back for another lunch some time in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.