HClaireB

By HClaireB

San Donato in Perano

I blipped this villa once before on 1st February from the opposite direction. It's on a hilltop between Gaiole-in-Chianti, where my house is, and Radda-in-Chianti, where I like to do my shopping.

From this direction you can see the vineyards that surround the villa. The vines round here are mostly Sangiovese which is the grape of Chianti Classico. The grapes are just starting to turn from green to red, and normally would be ready to harvest in about 4 weeks time. Just like England, the spring weather here was cool and showery, and the grapes are 2 to 3 weeks behind normal.

Most of the vineyards round here have electric fences to keep out the wild boar, but for some reason, San Donato's vineyards are not protected. Sure enough as I drove past the villa, four tiny, stripy, squeeling wild boar piglets shot across the road in front of me out of the vineyard into the forest. My camera was, of course, on the back seat...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.