Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Early Mist, Hobble End

Awake early, struggling to sleep after a bad day at work. It shouldn't affect you but when I've made mistakes it tends to gnaw away at me.

As a result I headed out at 5 am with the intention of visiting Cannock Chase. As I drove up the road the fields on my right were full of low lying mist, which bode well for a good morning's photography but as I drove up through Cannock I could see that the Chase ahead was clear, perhaps because it is higher ground.

A swift 360 at the roundabout and I headed back to the area with the mist. The footpath I started walking along is part of something called the Timberland Trail; I only wish it was better maintained, the stiles are wobbly and the path disappears as it crosses a fence into a barley field. The farmer had made no effort to provide a path either through, or around the field.

The mist was dispersing fast so I set up and took some quick shots (including this one) before sunrise. As I was standing there a small group of red deer came out from a nearby wood and started grazing, initially oblivious to my presence. Their ignorance didn't however last for long as they started a staring contest with me. Too far away for a reasonable shot, I continued to watch them for a few minutes and then headed off to the supermarket for an early shop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.