Bob20

By Bob20

Dipper mudlark

For a Bank Holiday weekend, I should not be digging holes!

Severn Trent Water telephoned me during July to ask me some questions. The first one was “do I have a swimming pool”. Yes I replied, before I could add anything, the lady interjected “ah, that would explain it”.

Explain what I said. “Your latest water bill of £2,400.

“What”!!! I replied. “it’s the swimming pool” she said. I replied, “I never knew I had a connection from my home in Derbyshire to our home in France”.

Silence at the other end of the ‘phone..

However, she was very nice, we had a laugh about it and she arranged for her men to pay us a visit. We had a new water supply put in to our watermill, and it has a leak. Unfortunately, it is our responsibility so we have been digging holes to locate the leak. We are gradually narrowing down where it may be. The builder is not best pleased!

Hence, not much opportunity for a blip and I didn’t think a hole with a blue pipe at the bottom was particularly interesting.

However, this Dipper who was watching for a good part of the afternoon thought it was!

Enjoy the long weekend everyone and thank you for all your kind comments on the view along Derwent Edge yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.