globaltraveller

By globaltraveller

The Trio of peaks

I did a sort of hike today from Murren village along the crest of the northern ridge above the Lauterbrunnen Valley to Grutschalp. My Swiss friends inform me that this is not a hike, as it doesn't involve any major inclines, so I guess it should probably be described as a "vigorous walk".

The view is dominated by the trio of peaks on the southern flank of the valley - the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau (or more appropriately the Ogre, the Monk and the Virgin). It is my favourite view and I love the grandeur and solidity of these peaks.

The hike was done in warm sunshine, and I descended into Lauterbrunnen via the cable car that begins on Grutschalp. I returned to Murren by walking along the flat valley floor and ascending using the LSMS (the Luftseilbahn Stechelberg Murren Schilthorn) cable car system which begins in Stechelberg.

Later after I had met some friends in Interlaken for dinner, I returned to Murren and because of "Bauarbeit" we had to use the adjacent Transportseilbahn from Stechelberg to Murren direct. This was a rare experience as this cableway is normally only using to transport goods from the lowlands to the mountain villages. It was however an altogether cosier and steeper experience!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.