It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

One is not Amused!

Breakfast was a strange one. It certainly wasn't a peaceful one as the landlord and lady both joined us for a chat. It wasn't exactly a breakfast one as the landlord was inappropriate (in a funny way) but the original topic escapes me. The toast from Aldi was fine, although maybe not as good as was suggested by the landlord.

The first walk of the day involved going to visit a stone circle. In my past life, I particularly enjoyed techno clubs, crazy women and a generally hedonistic lifestyle but now I find prospects going to visit bits of rock in soggy fields more exciting. On the way back we spotted some wild raspberries which tasted wonderful. Seeing one particularly bright and juicy one, my hand shot into the bush.....I love R but not enough to deprive her the opportunity to eat such a wonderful fruit! F**k, it was protected by the stingyest nettle known to man and it got me on the finger....(i was still feeling pain 24 hours later).

We then headed out in the car with the first planned stop being a wee cafe that also sold wool, stoves and a few other things. On arriving, I didn't like the look of the place but I was mistaken. Coffee and cake was pretty good for such an establishment. We then headed off to Queens View, so named after either Robert the Bruce's missus or Queen Victoria. It was a bit too full of tourists for my liking, but the view was spectacular. As shown in the above image, Rosemary did a particularly good Queen Victoria impersonation of not being amused! My favourite bit of the day was still to come, a swim in Loch Tay.

The 1st spot we found didn't have easy access to the water, at least for a big Jessie like me. We soon found a nice wee beach from which to launch ourselves. The rocks were a little sharp under foot but beyond them the loch bed was carpeted in a soft weed which was nice. I loved the swim, even though my googles kept leaking.

After a short break in Killin, we headed over to Aberfeldy for registration and dinner. At the last moment, R decided that the pasta party pasta and sauce was a better option than pizza from the local carry oot. This was despite me trying to assure her that wood fired pizza was the food of champions. A compromise was reached and I got my pizza, which I scoffed from the box way too quickly in the High Street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.