misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

A Sweet Pair of Friends

These two jolly dogs were out for a walk in Norwich next town up from my home in Oxford on this perfectly sunny day. Every one I saw while out looking for a blip smiled, said hello, declared how nice the day is, and how they were having a good one. These dogs felt the same. Judging by smiles and their relaxed manner, their retired owners who are next door neighbours felt happy, too.
The older, bigger dog, who is named Angel, belongs to a woman whose daughter left for college and gave the dog to her. You can see her hand in the photo as she tries to get Angel to smile into the camera instead of at her. Both of her children have flown the nest so she's happy to have this Angel. And the man with the 7 or 8 months old German Shepherd pup was left with his son's girl friend's puppy. She moved where no pets are allowed. She does not want it back. This man always wanted one of these beautiful dogs but could never afford one. He has had her for one week. Although he was told her is named 'Hope' the dog doesn't respond at all. He's not comfortable with it either.
As they went walking down the middle of the street-- low traffic in this neighbourhood, I heard them try out the name 'Hopi' (Hopee). and they both seemed to like it better.
I admit that I fell in love with that darling shepherd with the huge soft ears. I often dream that is the dog for me... my cats would vote against the idea. Although very young she listens so well already and she'll be a great companion for a father whose son has also left the nest. Nice how young adult children seem to take care of their parents without realizing it.

And so I have #301 blipped and in the can.
Thank you every one very much for the lovely comments and compliments you gave me yesterday on my reaching the 300th blip. I love how this little 'fan base' sticks with me every day and I learn so much about you and your lives, children and your precious grandchildren, your landscapes, pets, hobbies, gardening practices, bird and bug watching... and more. It is a rich and unique experience we have together. Thank you all!

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.