misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

A Friend in Need, Indeed... in deed!

When the loud bang went off in the garage a week ago, my grey cat PD Budd jumped straight up in the air and landed on his four paws before rushing to hide.
Apparently one of the springs broke that holds the cables for the automatic opening and closing of the garage door.
Not knowing what to do or who to call to help with this door I mentioned it to my good neighbour An... who sent her husband over that evening to look at it.
R. C. told me the spring was broken and the other one was ready to go. Do not use the door (I had been a little bit.)
After work the next day he bought the correct springs. The ones on were not even of the same size. Then he arrived here on Saturday at 7:30 a.m. and began the installation of both springs. The door now works like a treat in nearly total silence. Quite a change from previously. He handed me the receipt and explained al the physics behind the springs and cables, etc. (Ho-hum). He's an engineer and this stuff interests him. Also he's had lots of practice with automatic doors. They live across the highway (2 lanes) and have been flooded three or four times.
What a good dear man and so is his type A wife. He will not accept any money. He sees this as the community "service" that is part of his personal belief and Catholic Christian teachings. Very quiet man and I was impressed when he explained why he would not take money for any of the work he does for me.
Tonight I've been invited to a spaghetti dinner with them. Yesterday An turned the magic number = 65.
I have several homemade gifts for my friend... and I baked a gluten-free Custard Cake. I think she'll like it. I never made one before. It looks rather humble. I'll decorate it with a few nasturtiums and daisies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.