Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

The prize carrot

I stop by the free cart of books. I'll often browse but find there's little of interest. Today was just a little bit special. This rather extraordinary collection of vintage early 1960s LIFE books from the World Library, bathed in nostalgia, an anachronism where the Britain edition features fox hunting on its front cover could not have called my name louder. Not only are the books of interest to me as a geographer, I felt as proud as punch when I won the school year's prize in Geography going on to study my undergraduate degree in Geography at Royal Holloway, leading to my travels to more than 50 mostly developing countries as a film photographer spurred by the National Geographic imagery I was immersed in, but they are adorned with classic reportage photographs to be equally appealing to the photographic historian. That they should be beautiful books, in good condition and with graceful covers is somewhat of a bonus. "Spiffing" don't you think?

Later, in honour of the weeds aka carrots that have grown in our garden, I felt inspired to create this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.