Broom in waiting

I noticed these broom seeds ripening nicely in their furry envelopes. Until I looked closely I had not noticed all the silvery hairs before nor in fact the squiggly antennae on the end. As you can see Cara wanted to be included!

This afternoon saw another busy day in the garden. Thankfully it was fresher and less humid as I spent a while up a ladder wielding a cumbersome power hedge trimmer, tackling the back of the leylandi hedge and have again filled the compost bin! The bonus is that the trimmings are giving off a wonderful pine aroma when I lift the lid to add more. At least that job won't need to be done again until next year.

While I was working later in the garden, on a quieter job, a baby robin came very close, probably wanting to see if I had unearthed any tasty worms for it to eat. Unfortunately I didn't have the camera and by the time I fetched it, the robin had disappeared. It had such beautiful speckled markings but was unmistakably a robin from its shape, beak and eyes. Very cute.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.